Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Graduate Awards

Robert H. West Award: Outstanding Graduate Student in Literary Criticism and Creative Writing   

Cameron WinterWinner Literary Criticism: Cameron Winter

Winner Creative Writing: Jackie Kari

Named in honor of Robert H. West, former department head and faculty member, this fund supports the work of outstanding graduate students in the Department of English. 


Robert E. Park Essay Award  

Winner: Megan FontenotMegan Fontenot

Established by the Class of 1912 in honor of Robert E. Park, former head of English, this fund supports a prize given each year to the author of the best essay written for a graduate course in the Department of English.



The Christy Desmet Memorial Fund  

Phillip GilreathWinner: Philip Gilreath

Named in honor of faculty member Dr. Christy Desmet, Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor of English and Director of the FYC/UGA Writing Center, this fund will support graduate students working in British Literature prior to 1900.  


Patricia J. and Hubert H. McAlexander Graduate Award in American Literature

Winner: Sarah ShermyenSarah Shermyen

Named in honor of emeritus professors Drs. Hubert and Patricia McAlexander, this award recognizes outstanding work in the fields of Canadian and/or United States literature.  


R. Baxter Miller Award in African American and Multicultural Literature  

Chanara Andrews-BickersWinner: Chanara Andrews-Bickers 

Named in honor of faculty member Dr. R. Baxter Miller, this fund provides monetary awards for excellence in African American and Multicultural Literature by graduate and undergraduate students in the Department of English    


James B. Colvert English Graduate Awards

Winner: Nate Dixon Nathan Dixon

James B. Colvert was a scholar of American literature, Georgia Review editor, and department head, this fund supports stipends to outstanding graduate students pursuing study within UGA’s Department of English.  

The Alice C. Langdale Graduate Awards in English

Winners: Annelise Norman, Travis Dular, Mike McClelland, and Anna Forrester

Named in honor alumna Alice C. Langdale, this fund supports awards that recognizes the outstanding work of graduate students within the Department of English. 

Jane Appleby Doctoral Awards

Winners: Aviva Kasowski, Gabrielle Stecher Morgan Richardson, Sidonia Serafini, and Zach Perdieu 

Named in honor of teacher Jane Appleby, this fellowship supports graduate study in the Department of English.

Support English at UGA

We greatly appreciate your generosity. Your gift enables us to offer our students and faculty opportunities for research, travel, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Support the efforts of the Department of English by visiting our giving section. 

Give Now