Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


First-Year Writing Awards

Donald E Barnett Awards   

Each year, the English Department recognizes excellent writing in English 1101 and 1102 by presenting two Barnett Essay Awards. Named in honor of Donald E. Barnett, who directed the Freshman English Program for many years, the awards consist of cash prizes and publication of the winning essays in the First-Year Writing Guidebook. These awards are supported by the English Department Fund.

For English 1101

Kellie Bath “Defund the Police” Op-ed  

Nominated by Johanna Bailie 

For English 1102

Kate HodgesKate Hodges “Marginalization of Orogene Children in The Fifth Season”  

Nominated by Hannah Warren 

Honorable Mention: Joy Madden “The True Purpose of Religion in The Island of Doctor Moreau” nominated by Nancee Reeves 

Honorable Mention: MacKenzie Harden “Small Talk” Ep. 1: Women's Education in the Victorian Era” nominated by Emily Beckwith 

Honorable Mention: Madison Taylor “The Price of a Penny” nominated by David Ingle 


Michael G Moran e-Portfolio Awards   

Beginning in 2007, the English Department began recognizing the excellent work being done in ePortfolios for English 1101 and 1102 by presenting the portfolio awards. Named in honor of Michael G. Moran, a former director of FYW who did much to shape and improve the program and who has continued to support it by serving loyally on the First-Year Writing Committee, these awards also consist of cash prizes and publication of selected exhibits from the winning ePortfolios in the First-Year Writing Guide. These awards are supported by the English Department Fund

For English 1101

Jianing ZhaoJianing Zhao nominated by Danielle Bray 




Brandon Doan


For English 1102

Brandon Doan nominated by Katie Hurlock 

Honorable Mention: Alice Ware Nominated by Michelle Sherwin 



Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards  

Savanah Jensen, Matt Kliewer, Michelle Sherwin, Gabrielle Stecher, Sarah Shermyen and Phillip Gilreath.

About these awardsThe Center for Teaching and Learning administers the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award, sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Instruction. This award recognizes the top ten-percent of teaching assistants demonstrating superior teaching skills while serving in the classroom or laboratory.  


Support English at UGA

We greatly appreciate your generosity. Your gift enables us to offer our students and faculty opportunities for research, travel, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Support the efforts of the Department of English by visiting our giving section. 

Give Now